World of Outlaws Invade AMSOIL Speedway July 5th

World of Outlaws Invade AMSOIL Speedway July 5th


The cars and stars of the World of Outlaw Late Model Series will invade the AMSOIL Speedway in Superior, Wisconsin on Friday, July 5th as the kickoff of the annual Wild West Tour, which will see the road warriors hit tracks in 5 states and Canada over an 8 day stretch in Wisconsin, Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming and Manitoba, Canada.

The series will make its return to the twin ports after a 3 years hiatus which saw Menomonie, Wisconsin veteran Jimmy Mars win the $10,000 payday in the tour’s last visit to the high banked 3/8 mile red clay oval back in 2010. A scheduled WoO event was cancelled due to rain in 2012.

Mars is expected to lead a high powered local contingent to try to keep the winner’s share right here in the Badger state as he, Solon Springs, Wisconsin driver Brady Smith and 2011 World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year Pat Doar from New Richmond, Wisconsin are set to try to defend their home turf from the outlaw drivers who will be riding into town looking to leave with the big cash.

Shinnston, West Virginia pilot Josh Richards lead the WoO point standings coming into the month of July and boasts 3 wins so far on the tour. Fayetteville, Georgia racer Shane Clanton sits only 8 points behind and has a solid 4 wins so far in 2013 on the outlaw tour. Defending series champion Darrell Lanigan from Union, Kentucky has a series high 6 victories and is riding a hot streak as he comes to the Badger state as well.

Other drivers expected to be in attendance include York, Pennsylvania’s Rick Eckert; the Watertown, New York duo of Tim Fuller and Tim McCreadie; Vicksburg, Mississippi pilot Bub McCool; Bear Lake, Pennsylvania driver Chub Frank; Longview, Texas driver Morgan Bagley; Senoia, Georgia’s Clint Smith and 2013 Rookie of the Year point leader Eric Wells from Hazard, Kentucky.

AMSOIL Speedway's gates are scheduled to open at 4 p.m. Hot laps will begin at 6:30 p.m. and qualifying will get the green flag at 7 p.m. For more information, check out