The pole position was a great place to start but didn't always guarantee a win.

A case in point was the run of Brady Caul who ran from 13th to second in the

Midwest Modified feature behind Cody Wolkowski who started 8th.

Kevin Carlson started the 20 lap WISSOTA Late Model feature from the pole

but Gregg Hill found the top groove to his liking as he shot out into the lead.

Carlson gathered it back up, tracked Hill down and took the lead after a brief

battle. Harry Hanson ran third behind Hill as Darrell Nelson and Tim McMann

battled back and fourth for fourth. With no caution flags and a fast track, the mid

point was quickly reached with Carlson comfortably in the lead over Hanson, Hill,

McMann and Nelson. Nelson moved to fourth and then to third as Hill began to

fade to an eventual fifth place finish. Hanson began to inch closer to Carlson but

couldn't muster enough to mount a challenge. Carlson became the sixth different

feature winner of the season.

It was 20 laps for the WISSOTA Modifieds and pole sitter Destin Lorimor got

a gigantic start to a huge lead. Scott Heikkinen, Ross Lightner, Darrell Nelson and

Rick Rivord ran in the top five but it was Nelson who was on the move as he raced

to second and, with five laps in, went past Lorimor and drove off to a long lead.

Charging from 8th to third was Matt Leer. By the half way point Nelson had a

straight away lead over Lorimor but a caution for a Jody Bellefeuille spin in turn

one erased it. At the restart Leer jumped past Lorimor to second and set out after

Nelson but came up short as Nelson won his second Modified feature of the

season at the speedway. Leer, Lorimor, Lightner and Rick Rivord rounded out the

top five.

Andy Grymala used his outside front row starting spot to great advantage as he

raced into the lead for good off turn two. Nick Oreskovich, and Dave Flynn

followed but the caution flag flew for a Flynn spin when he and Rick Simpson

touched as Simpson went to the outside to pass. Flynn was sent to the rear. With

one lap in Grymala got a good start and Simpson out dragged Oreskovich to take

over second. Mike Bellefeuille ran third ahead of Scott Lawrence who was up to

fifth after starting 9th. Lawrence was being challenged by Andy Davey for the

position. The laps clicked off quickly as the top six pulled away from the rest by

almost a straight away. Flynn was on a mission and was up to seventh from the

back of the pack. By the mid point Grymala had a big lead over Simpson and

Oreskovich who was busy trying to hold off Lawrence. Simpson slowly reduced

the distance to Grymala as Lawrence took third with Davey following him by into

fourth. Grymala began to widen his leading margin with three laps remainingand

went on to take his first career feature wi at the speedway.

Jason Goldfine grabbed the point at the green in the 15 lap Midwest Modified

feature. Hard racing for second between Brian Youderin, Don Craig, Dan

Kingsley and Neil Balduc let Goldfine get away for a time but a caution flag for

debris set up a restart with one lap in. Goldfine got another good start on Craig

and Balduc as point leader Cody Wolkowski slipped into third. The second

caution flag appeared as Craig spun in turn one with nine laps to go. Craig went to

the rear as the green flag flew for the restart but no laps were completed before

Cody Carlson spun off turn two onto the back stretch. The next try saw

Wolkowski get the jump on Goldfine who had to deal with Balduc, Brady Caul

who had come from the seventh row and Kingsley. Deven VanHouse was also

closing on the front runners. Balduc went to second and Caul went into third. As

the laps wore down with Wolkowski in the lead, Balduct made a last ditch effort

for the lead, couldn't quite pull it off and fell off the pace and out of the race

leaving second to Caul. Wolkowski was the winner over Caul, Kingsley,

VanHouse and Goldfine.

Multiple caution flags as well as a red one marred the 15 lap Pure Stock feature

which was won by Steve Udeen. Heat winner Annika Hammitt ended up being

involved in four of the caution flags not all of which were her fault until the car

gave up the ghost and appeared to stall on the back stretch. Brothers Jon and Matt

Hammitt ran at the front of the field for the entire race with Jon leading several

laps before finishing third and Matt fifth. The red flag came out for Kayla

Anderson who rolled the 5k onto the roof in turn one. She was uninjured. On the

final restart Udeen Justin Madsen and Jon Hammitt battled for the win with Udeen

taking the his first of the season at the speedway. Madsen, Jon Hammitt, Chad

Nikstad and Matt Hammitt were the top five.

Results AMSOIL Speedway 7-13-12

WISSOTA Late Model (7 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Kevin Carlson Hermantown; Harry Hanson Eveleth; Darrell

Nelson Hermantown; Tim McMann Duluth; Gregg Hill Eveleth; Dave Esse

Cloquet; Robbie Cooper Superior

Heat (8 laps): Nelson; McMann; Hanson; Hill; Carlson; Esse; Cooper

WISSOTA Modified (12 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Matt Leer Bruce; Destin Lorimor

Superior; Ross Lightner Washburn; Rick Rivord Superior; Steve Stuart Ashland;

Jeff Tardy Hibbing; Al Uotinen Superior; Scott Hudack Ashland; Jody Bellefeuille

Duluth; Rick Niemi Eveleth; Scott Heikkinen Eveleth

Heat 1 (8 laps): Nelson; Lorimor; Heikkinen; Rivord; Uotinen; Bellefeuille

Heat 2 (8 laps): Tardy; Lightner; Hudack; Leer; Stuart; Niemi

WISSOTA Super Stock (18 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Andy Grymala Superior; Rick Simpson Thunder Bay; Scott

Lawrence Superior; Andy Davey Hibbing; Nick Oreskovich Mason; Dave Flynn

Superior; Mike Bellefeuille Duluth; Jim Campbell Two Harbors; Trevor Wilson

Superior; Pat Heikkinen Eveleth; Keith Kern Superior; Ronnie Malecki Superior;

Matt Madsen Superior; Ashley Smith Superior DNF Donnie Lofdahl Proctor; Dan

Tocheri Thunder Bay DNS D. J. Keeler Superior; Willie Johnsen Superior

Heat 1 (8 laps): Lawrence; Simpson; Campbell; Malecki; Heikkinen; Tocheri

Heat 2 (8 laps): Bellefeuille; Oreskovich; Lofdahl; Madsen; Smith DNF Johnsen

Heat 3 (8 laps): Flynn; Grymala; Davey; Wilson; Kern DNF Keeler

WISSOTA Midwest Modified (13 cars)

Feature (15 laps) Cody Wolkowski Thunder Bay; Brady Caul Fort Francis; Dan

Kingsley Superior; Deven VanHouse Silver Bay; Jason Goldfine Superior; Brian

Youderin Superior; Ricky Davis Bruno; Don Craig Thunder Bay; David Simpson

Thunder Bay; Cody Carlson Superior; Norm Anderson Jr. Duluth DNF Jake

Gondik Foxboro; Neil Balduc Bessemer

Heat 1 (8 laps): Kingsley; Wolkowski; Balduc; Gondik; C. Carlson; Davis; Caul

Heat 2 (8 laps): VanHouse; Craig; Goldfine; Youderin; Anderson; Simpson

Pure Stock (18 cars)

Feature (15 laps) Steve Udeen Superior; Justin Madsen Foxboro; Jon Hammitt

Cloquet; Chad Nikstad Superior; Matt Hammitt Cloquet; Justin Bassa

Hermantown; Josh Johnson Superior; Steve Christman Concord, NC; Travis

Zembo Superior; Andy Udeen Superior; Josh Overn Mahtowa; Rita Anderson

South Range; Kodi Oliver Superior DNF Shaina Rapp Saginaw; Kayla Anderson

Superior; Tim Carlson Superior: Scott Shober Wrenshall; Annika Hammitt


Heat 1 (8 laps): J. Hammitt; S. Udeen; Madsen; A. Udeen; R. Anderson; K.


Heat 2 (8 laps): A. Hammitt; Nikstad; M. Hammitt; Zembo; Shober; Oliver

Heat 3 (8 laps): T. Carlson; J. Johnson; Bassa; S. Christman; Overn; S. Rapp